JZ Blogger


Welcome Home to Sweden?
torsdag, juli 3, 2008, 11:27
Filed under: General Blogging

So, here we are, in Sweden. Recent move, messy house, but at least we’re making progress. ”Welcome back,” says some. ”Welcome home,” says others.

But it doesn’t feel like that. The house already feels like home, the area feels like home. And it is our home. But we’re not ”back”, and we’re not ”returning home”. At least it doesn’t feel like it.

Of course, Gothenburg (or to be specific, Kungsbacka), where we’re now living, wasn’t our home in the first place. But Sweden was. Yet, at least Caroline (my sister) and I have been abroad too long to feel like it’s our home country.

So what is our home country then? Finland? No. Denmark? No. Caroline feels most at home in Denmark, but I don’t think she considers it ”home” in that sense. I liked Denmark the most while living there, but since three years have passed since then, the country has drifted away from me. And Finland never really appealed to me in the first place.

In short, I don’t feel I have a home country in the mental way. When cheering for a sports team, there’s no clear choice. When I’m asked if it feels good to come back to Sweden, I don’t know what to answer.

Both for good and bad, I do believe Sweden will grow to me, though. I’m likely to spend quite a few years here before it becomes relevant to move to another country once again.

But then again, what does the country matter when all you need is friends and family, something which I already have here, and am likely to get more of (referring to the former rather than the latter) in the future. Kungsbacka and Gothenburg are great places, and I’m sure I’ll like it here. But is it really where I’ve always had my heart?

7 kommentarer so far
Lämna en kommentar

Låter som du, som jag, är världsmedborgare.

Eftersom du vägrar prata engelska med mig iaf (så ingen risk att du skulle sluta) tänker jag mobba din engelska: du använder så gulliga uttryck, särskilt ”I don’t feel I have a home country in the mental way”, ”Sweden will grow to me”, ”where I’ve always had my heart?” xD

Kommentar av christa89

Landgränser är bara dumma saker som skapats av politik, religion och oliktänkare.

Eller, tja, så dumma är de väl inte, men det känns dumt att man ska behöva tillhöra att visst land och att det inte alltid bara är att åka/bo där man vill.

Mina uttryck är högst förtjänstfulla 😛

Kommentar av Jozii

Ingen som hade engelska som modersmål skulle uttrycka sig så, och den ena är grammatiskt fel (plus till dig om du kan hitta och rätta själv) 😛

Ner med nationalism!!

Kommentar av christa89

De som pratar engelske som modersmål är alltså trångsynta. Ja, så måste det vara 😛

Jag diskuterar inte språkligheter men sådanna som sätter två (eller fler) utropstecken efter varandra 😛

Kommentar av Jozii

Jag satt medvetet två utropstecken.

”Alla andra måste vara trångsynta. Jag, så måste det vara!” proklamerar den trångsynte.

Jag diskuterar inte språkligheter med sådana som inte bryr sig om att kontrollera stavningen. Flera utropstecken betyder iver, dålig stavning betyder vårdslöshet, att man inte bryr sig om den andra tillräckligt för att rätta, och att man skulle spotta på dem så fort man fick chansen.

Jag överdriver inte!!!

Kommentar av christa89

Att inte bry sig om att kontrollera stavningen är åtminstone bättre än att inte kunna stava alls 😛

Okej, förlåt, den var låg :$

Vänta du bara tills vi ses igen så får vi se om jag spottar eller inte 😉

Kommentar av Jozii

Påstår du att jag inte kan stava? Inte jag ordföljd kan, men en annan sak det är.

Du spottar visst, fråga Caroline. Jag tar regnjackan på.

Kommentar av christa89




Kommentera

